Exmoor Pony Society

Go to content

Main menu:

A Registered Charity. Guardians of the Breed since 1921. Conserving and Preserving Exmoor's heritage

Welcome to the World of Exmoor Ponies

Please support the work of the Society
in its role as Guardians of the Breed
by making a donation
via Friends Of Exmoor Ponies Ltd.

Latest additions to Website

The Exmoor Pony is Britain's oldest breed of native pony, thought to be little different from the original wild ponies that colonised Britain many thousands of years ago. It's destiny has been determined by people since the time of the Celts.
A registered Charity, the Exmoor Pony Society was set up in 1921 by moorland farmers for the registration of pure-bred Exmoor ponies, the conservation of the breed and the preservation of the breed standard and thus maintain Exmoor's heritage.  The Society also promotes the ponies to the general public attending events, holding shows and clinics and being a lead participant in the Exmoor Pony Festival.  The Society holds the official stud book which became a closed studbook in 1962 - a decision taken by the moorland farmers.  In accordance, with DEFRA legislation acts as a Passport Issuing Organisation.  The Society has worked with the Exmoor National Park Authority and the Rare Breed Survival Trust for many years to ensure that the Exmoor Pony, which remains on the Rare Breed Survival Trust’s Watchlist in Category 2, survives both in its natural habitat and in-ground.  The Exmoor Pony Society registers ponies on Exmoor and throughout the UK, Europe and North America.

Events Diary for Current Month

Click HERE for EPS Event List


The Exmoor Pony Society is supported by

Horserace Betting Levy Board
Back to content | Back to main menu